主厨推荐:纽约最佳的 5 家餐厅

新式美食餐厅 The Aviary NYC 饱受赞誉的主厨 Grant Achatz 热忱推荐纽约不容错过的餐厅。


作者:JOHANNA DERRY
Johanna Derry 是一名美食记者,供职于《泰晤士报》、《卫报》和《每日电讯报》等报社 

 

2017 年纽约轰动一时的新店之一 The Aviary NYC(位于纽约文华东方酒店内)开始营业。这家餐厅由极富盛名的芝加哥鸡尾酒吧 The Aviary 的团队运营。主厨 Grant Achatz 说:“我们在这里供应的餐饮与芝加哥完全相同,有奇妙的零食、创意十足的冰饮,所有成就我们名气的元素都复制到了这里。”

尽管芝加哥才是他出发启程的地方,Achatz 却全身心投入纽约的餐饮圈,参加这里的开业活动。谈到纽约和这座城市的美食圈时,他非常热情。“纽约很难超越:这里的活力、机会和所有令人惊喜的餐厅和鸡尾酒吧。这是我们在芝加哥之外开展的第一次冒险,纽约是个大舞台,我们希望能在这里取得成功。正如人们所说的那样,如果你在这里能做好,那么其他任何地方都不在话下。”" 下面是他所推荐的纽约不容错过的餐厅。

OLMSTED BROOKLYN

主厨 Greg Baxtrum 将农场到餐桌的餐饮理念发挥到了极致,他与为布鲁克林 Olmsted 供应农产品的农民 Ian Rothman 进行合作。他们不仅在后花园中种植蔬菜,供应给餐厅厨房后的两人厨房,还自行养殖了菜单上出现的鸟类和淡水螯虾。Baxtrum 曾就职于 Achatz 的芝加哥 Alinea 餐厅。Achatz 说:“我是有点偏见的,因为他曾与我们一同工作过,但他这里的食物真的很棒。Greg 是个活力充沛的人,他为布鲁克林的人们带来了一些超棒的美食。”"

DOVETAIL

Dovetail 在上西区开设了十年之久,是主厨 John Fraser 蔬菜优先烹饪理念的标志性案例。Fraser 是将蔬菜推向重要位置这一趋势的先行者,每天晚上餐厅都会推出素食和纯素食菜单,这让他的米其林星级餐厅成为素食主义者和肉食爱好者心目中的长期之选。“感觉我们已经很熟悉纽约市了,我们总是到这里 [Dovetail] 来,”Achatz 和 Aviary NYC 的联合创始人 Nick Kokonas 这样说道。“这里能把家和度假的感觉完美结合”,他补充说。

EMPELLÓN

主厨 Alex Stupak 的墨西哥餐厅 Empell–n –在东村、西村和市中心分别开设有三家分店。第一家 Empellón 于五年前开业,今年新开的一家位于麦迪逊和第 5 大道之间的第 53 街,“从纽约文华东方酒店步行即可到达”,Achatz 说。“他是一位年轻的厨师,能烹饪出极具创意的墨西哥菜。” 鲷鱼配鸡肉炒饼等菜肴混搭了不同文化的影响,创造出全新的美味体验。Stupak 旗下的每家餐厅都拥有不容错认的 Empell'n 特色招牌,伴随其独特的诠释,Stupak 将之称之为餐厅的“颜色”。

ELEVEN MADISON PARK

Daniel Humm 在熨斗区监管着米其林三星餐厅 Eleven Madison Park,为顾客提供高端的现代美国美食。今年,这家餐厅又斩获殊荣,荣获世界年度 50 佳餐厅排名第一位,而这个头衔之前是由 elBulli 和 Noma 之类的餐厅所持有的。“这里有太多家好餐厅,那份名单可以一直排下去,”Achatz 说。“纽约的一切都更大”,并且更夸张——当然是以一种好的方式。” 它将在重新装修后于 2017 年秋季重新开业,目前暂时以体验式餐厅的形式迁至东汉普顿。 

PASQUALE JONES

在 NoLIta(小意大利区北边),主厨 Ryan Hardy 与调酒师 Robert Bohr 和 Grant Reynolds 合作经营一家免预约的小型意大利柴火餐厅' Pasquale Jones。“我经常因工作的原因来到这个城市,而如果有时间来这样的一间餐厅和酒吧,那就太棒了,”Achatz 说。如您所料,这里有披萨和意大利面,但也有小碟美食,例如 hamachi crudo (意式寿司)和碳烤鱿鱼,以及来这家餐厅必点的木柴烤炉双人份猪腿肉主菜。

请您自便……

通过我们为您量身定制的套餐体验纽约的活力美食圈。

预订房间

Chef's choice: five of the best New York restaurants

Grant Achatz, the acclaimed chef behind new culinary hotspot The Aviary NYC, chooses the best of the rest of the New York City restaurant scene


BY JOHANNA DERRY
Johanna Derry is a food journalist for titles including The Times, The Guardian and The Telegraph 

 

One of new York's most buzzed about openings of 2017, The Aviary NYC, within Mandarin Oriental, New York, is brought to you by the team behind acclaimed Chicago cocktail hot spot The Aviary. "The food and drink programme we're doing here is the same as in Chicago – by which we mean interesting flavours, creative ice, all the things we're known for – we're just doing more of it," says chef Grant Achatz.

Though Chicago will always be home, Achatz immersed himself in the New York dining scene in anticipation of opening here, and is a huge enthusiast when it comes to New York and the city's food scene. "It's hard to beat New York: the energy, the opportunity, and all the amazing restaurants and cocktail bars. This is our first venture outside of Chicago, and New York is a big stage, but we plan to knock it out of the park. If you can make it here you can make it anywhere, as they say." Here's his pick of must-visit restaurants in his new city.

OLMSTED BROOKLYN

Chef Greg Baxtrum has taken the idea of farm-to-table dining to the nth degree, by partnering with farmer Ian Rothman for Olmsted in Brooklyn. Not only do they grow vegetables in their back garden to supply the tiny two-man kitchen at the back of their restaurant kitchen, but they also keep the birds and crayfish that crop up on the menu there. Baxtrum is a former alumni of Achatz's restaurant, Alinea, in Chicago, and Achatz says: "I'm a bit biased because he worked with us, but it's really fantastic food. Greg has got a lot of energy and has brought something great to this Brooklyn neighbourhood."

DOVETAIL

A decade-long stalwart of the Upper West Side, Dovetail is the flagship example of chef John Fraser's vegetable-forward approach to cooking. Fraser was an early pioneer of the trend to put vegetables front and centre, and every night the restaurant offers both vegetarian and vegan menus, making his Michelin-starred restaurant a longstanding favourite of herbivores and meat-eaters alike. "New York City seems so familiar to us now and we always come here [to Dovetail]," say Achatz of he and The Aviary NYC co-founder Nick Kokonas. "It feels like a good blend of being at home and being on vacation," he adds.

EMPELLÓN

There are three sites – East Village, West Village and Midtown – for chef Alex Stupak's Mexican restaurant Empellón. The first Empellón opened five years ago and the most recent opened this year on 53rd St between Madison and 5th, and "within walking distance of Mandarin Oriental, New York" says Achatz. "He's another young chef, serving highly creative Mexican food." Dishes such as sea bream with chilaquiles verdes, for example, mashing up different cultural influences to create something completely new. Each of the restaurants in Stupak's empire has an unmistakable Empellón signature, but with its own unique take, described by Stupak as the restaurant's "colour".

ELEVEN MADISON PARK

In the Flatiron District, Daniel Humm oversees three Michelin-starred Eleven Madison Park, serving high-end contemporary American cuisine. This year, the restaurant added to its tally of accolades, claiming the top spot in the annual World's 50 Best Restaurants listing, a title previously held by restaurants such as elBulli and Noma. "There are so many great restaurants here, the list could go on and on," says Achatz. "Everything in New York is bigger and more exaggerated – in a good way." It reopens in autumn 2017 after a refurbishment, having in the meantime relocated temporarily to a pop-up in East Hampton. 

PASQUALE JONES

In NoLIta (North of Little Italy), chef Ryan Hardy, together with sommeliers Robert Bohr and Grant Reynolds, run a 'walk-ins welcome', small, wood-fired Italian restaurant – Pasquale Jones. "I come to the city pretty frequently for work and it's always great if you can find time to visit restaurants and bars like this one," says Achatz. Yes, there's pizza and pasta as you'd expect, but also small plates such as hamachi crudo (sushi, Italian-style) and charcoal-grilled cuttlefish, as well as pork shank for two, the restaurant's must-eat main from the wood oven.

Be our guest…

Experience New York's dynamic dining scene for yourself with one of our tailored packages.

View Offers