畅游曼谷必备指南

$module/image

作者:Mark Eveleigh

Mark Eveleigh 是专门研究亚洲文化的记者和摄影师,他的作品多次获奖,并经常发表于《国家地理》、《纽约时报》和《时尚先生》等报纸期刊上。

找到您的心头好

为了与酒店 140 余年的传统气息相得益彰,多年前以–新路–而闻名的地区周围现已成为曼谷颇具魅力和多样性的场所之一。从外观宏伟的曼谷文华东方酒店出发,步行数分钟后,您将看到佛寺松浦寺、哈龙清真寺和圣母升天教堂(拥有将近 200 年的历史)。挽叻县是现代曼谷的中心地带,在这个亚洲地区尤为热情好客的主要城市中汇聚着万花筒式的街头生活。

充实心灵

在泰国首都城市的所有酒店中,曼谷文华东方酒店独树一帜,散发着古典气息,宾客身临其中,仿佛在与作家 Somerset Maugham 和 Joseph Conrad 并肩同行。老海关大厦摇摇欲坠的砖墙衬托着河景,正如《丛林之书》中描绘的背景那般奇幻。几米开外,便是翻修一新的 OP 广场购物中心和 OP 花园,在这个具有新古典主义传统风格的购物商场中,您将看到琳琅满目的古董店、画廊和设计师商店,并可让手艺精湛的裁缝为您量身定制精美服装。OP 花园中的 Serindia 画廊每月举办展览,展出来自泰国及世界各地艺术家的杰出作品。

老海关大厦

老海关大厦的辉煌渐渐消退。

像当地人一样畅快购物

Lipao 古董与纪念品店以及西藏之家(都位于 OP 广场)收藏了来自亚洲各地的古董和精美收藏品。您若想购买当地的优质丝绸,绝不能错过 Sophia 泰国丝绸商店,不论是衬衫、西服或女装,店中的裁缝都能在 24 小时之内裁剪出合身的精致服装,就像变魔法一样神奇。从酒店出发步行十分钟,您将抵达时尚潮流的河城购物中心,或 Silom Road 的主要购物区,这里分布着知名品牌零售店和众多极具趣味的当地街边摊。

https://photos.mandarinoriental.com/is/image/MandarinOriental/dmo-mobkk-concierge

唯有曼谷······

“曼谷文华东方酒店拥有 140 多年的历史,宾客可通过这家充满文学和历史元素的豪华酒店了解宏伟的湄南河。租一条私人长尾船,随船欣赏河上风光,其壮观景象令人难忘。从酒店码头出发前往曼谷老城区仅需 20 分钟,宾客将看到众多城市地标建筑,包括黎明寺、大皇宫和皇家御舟博物馆。宾客还可以在途中各式各样的公共码头稍作停留,漫步于繁华的花卉市场或兼收并蓄的艺术画廊中。若要在一两个小时内充分体验曼谷的独特魅力,乘船游览是您的理想选择。

Greg Liddell,曼谷文华东方酒店总经理

参观迷人景点

在乘坐 20 分钟的三轮小摩的或出租车后,举世闻名的大皇宫便映入眼帘。建议您从上午 8 点的开放时间开始游览皇宫和玉佛寺(皇家寺庙),以避开高峰人流,享受优质的观赏体验。但您也可在卧佛寺附近享受更宁静的精神升华,领略泰国佛教的核心宗旨。曼谷文华东方酒店免费提供往返船只,通过交通艇接送来往酒店和中央码头(泰国的主要交通枢纽)的宾客。在接送途中,您可以欣赏曼谷的生命之源——湄南河的优美风光。

为您的到来举杯

The Never Ending Summer 餐厅位于湄南河上游,这家滨江餐厅吸引着泰国的年轻潮流艺术家和设计师前来落日晚饮,您也可以在这里感受曼谷天才调酒师精湛的调酒技艺。如果您偏爱更接地气的街区氛围,则可以再向南行走两个街区,在罗宾逊百货商场后,有众多餐厅和酒吧任您挑选。泰国各行各业的精英在一天辛苦的工作后,都会到这里休闲放松。

留出时间放松休闲

留出时间放松休闲

水疗与康体

曼谷文华东方酒店的东方水疗中心提供一系列焕彩护理,从“东方有机之旅”到阿育吠陀水疗项目和顶级传统泰式按摩,为您打造舒适享受。(如果您想通过其他方式舒缓压力,也可以尝试泰式拳击。)离开酒店体验长尾船之行时,这个过程并不是悠闲赏景,而是如同乘坐惊险刺激的过山车,经过曼谷“海湾”一带的狭窄水道后,之前紧张刺激的心情才能真正平缓下来。几乎没有人能够想到,居住在传奇的天使之城中的人们竟过着田园般的惬意生活。

别具格调的用餐体验 

别忘了乘坐酒店接送船只到河对岸体验 Supanniga 品酒游船,这次浪漫的美食之旅借鉴了泰式家宴食谱,宾客可以一边用餐,一边欣赏“帝王河畔”的美景,感受视觉味觉双重盛宴。

Le Du 餐厅

知名餐厅 Le Du 的姜黄鸡。

Le Du 餐厅

Le Du 餐厅的压缩西瓜。

Sala Rim Naam 餐厅

到曼谷文华东方酒店的河对岸,享用 Sala Rim Naam 餐厅的美食。

Sala Rim Naam 餐厅

Sala Rim Naam 餐厅供应丰盛的美食,每晚都有正宗的泰式舞蹈表演。

开启一场梦幻的时光之旅

历史悠久的东方酒店创办于 1876 年,是如今曼谷文华东方酒店的前身。东方酒店是旧时暹罗的首家豪华酒店,并因此享有盛名,然而几乎没有人知道,彩色丝绸大亨(兼美国特勤局特工)Jim Thompson 是酒店曾经的所有人之一。

https://mandarinoriental.com/templates/main/img/MO_Magazine_Logo_BLK.svg

其他活动

从中央码头向下游行驶十分钟,您将看到亚洲河畔夜市,这个经过翻修的港口购物中心内设 1,500 家商店和 40 家餐厅。这个魅力无穷的景点值得您花一两个晚上细细欣赏。

曼谷的街边美食

夜市

曼谷唐人街的夜市。图片:Martin Puddy,盖蒂图片社

小贩

一个在摆摊的小贩。图片:Ray Laskowitz,盖蒂图片社

泰式烧烤

泰式烧烤是曼谷颇受欢迎的街边美食之一。图片:Prachanart,盖蒂图片社

拉差达火车夜市

著名的曼谷拉差达火车夜市。图片:Patrick Foto,盖蒂图片社

Your essential guide to Bangkok

$module/image

By Mark Eveleigh

An award-winning journalist and photographer specialising in Asia, Mark Eveleigh’s writing has been published in titles including National Geographic, The New York Times and Esquire.

Find your bearings

In keeping with the traditional feel of a hotel that opened more than 140 years ago, the area around what was once known – long ago – as ‘New Road’ is one of the most fascinating and diverse in Bangkok. A short walk away from the venerable façade of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok you’ll find the Buddhist temple of Wat Suan Plu, the Haroon Mosque and the Assumption Cathedral (which is almost 200 years old). Bang Rak quarter is at once the heartland of modern Bangkok and a kaleidoscopic pageant of street life in this most hospitable of Asian capitals.

Feed your mind

More than any hotel in the Thai capital, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok exudes an old-world charm that makes you feel as if you’re walking arm-in-arm with former Bangkok residents, Somerset Maugham and Joseph Conrad. The crumbling brickwork of the Old Customs House graces the riverfront like a backdrop to The Jungle Book. Just a few metres away you’ll find the charmingly restored neoclassical heritage shopping arcades of OP Place Shopping Centre and OP Gardens with their collections of antique shops, galleries, designer stores and fine tailors. Serindia Gallery in OP Gardens has monthly exhibitions from Thai and international artists.

The Old Customs House

The faded grandeur of The Old Customs House.

Shop like a local

Lipao Antiques and Souvenirs and Tibet House (both in OP Place) stock antiques and fine collectibles from all over Asia. For quality local silk, Sophia Thai Silk can work its tailoring magic on shirts, suits and dresses in less than 24 hours. A ten-minute stroll from the hotel will take you to the chic River City Shopping Complex or into the main shopping thoroughfare of Silom Road, where you can find major brand outlets fronted by countless intriguing local street stalls.

https://photos.mandarinoriental.com/is/image/MandarinOriental/dmo-mobkk-concierge

Only in Bangkok...

“Laden with literary and historical references, the more than 140 year-old grande dame of Mandarin Oriental hotels is the definitive introduction to the majestic Chao Phraya river. A river excursion in a private long-tail boat never ceases to amaze me. Only 20 minutes away from the hotel pier towards Bangkok’s Old Town, guests will see an array of city landmarks, including The Temple of Dawn, The Grand Palace and The Royal Barge Museum. They can also make a stop at various public piers for a stroll among the bustling flower markets or eclectic art galleries along the way. There’s no more adventurous or alluring way to discover Bangkok’s heritage in just an hour or two.

Greg Liddell, General Manager, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

See some sights

Just 20 minutes away by tuk-tuk or taxi you will find the world-famous sights around The Grand Palace. The palace itself and Wat Phra Kaew (the Royal Temple) are best visited shortly after opening time at 8am to avoid the crowds. Just around the corner at Wat Pho, however, you can enjoy a more peaceful sense of the spiritualism that is a central tenet of Thai Buddhism. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok offers complimentary boat shuttles that connect guests with commuter boats at Sathorn Pier (a major transport hub). From here you can explore sights of the Chao Phraya river – the lifeblood of the city.

Toast your arrival

Sample the magic of some of Bangkok’s most talented mixologists at The Bamboo Bar. The Never Ending Summer is just a few blocks upriver and is a cool riverfront sundowner venue for Thailand’s hip young artists and designers. For a more grassroots, neighbourhood street vibe, head to the drinking venues just two blocks south, behind Robinson Department Store. This is where Thai professionals go to unwind after a long day in the city.

Make time to unwind

Make time to unwind

Spa & Wellness

The Oriental Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok offers a rejuvenating range of treatments from ‘Oriental Organic Journey’ to Ayurveda and the finest traditional Thai massage. (If you want to find another way to K.O. that stress, there’s even a chance to try Thai Boxing.) Beyond the hotel, a long-tail boat ride can, at times, feel more like a roller-coaster than a way to unwind, but once you reach the narrow channels of Bangkok’s ‘bayou’ neighbourhoods, you’re sure to feel your pulse slow. Here, there’s a rural lifestyle that few people seem to expect from the legendary City of Angels.

Learn More

Dine in style 

Be sure to take the hotel shuttle across the river to the Sala Rim Naam for a fine Thai feast, accompanied by a cultural dance performance. This is also the venue for the Oriental Thai Cooking School, where one of the city’s finest home-grown chefs will help you hone your culinary talents. Harmonique – offering fresh seafood at less than extravagant prices – is a brief walk from the hotel. A ten-minute tuk-tuk ride will take you to Le Du, a restaurant famous for its tireless quest for the best local ingredients. Finally, the Supanniga Taittinger Cruise is a romantic dining experience that combines a Thai feast of family recipes with views from the ‘River of Kings’.

Le Du

Turmeric Chicken at popular resaturant Le Du.

Le Du

Le Du's dish of Compressed Watermelon.

Sala Rim Naam

Cross the river from Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok to visit Sala Rim Naam.

Learn More

Sala Rim Naam

More treats at Sala Rim Naam, where there's also an authentic Thai dance show every night.

Learn More

Time travel

Built in 1876, The Oriental, now Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok has a colourful history. Famed for being the first luxury hotel in old Siam, few people realise that Jim Thompson, the colourful silk magnate (and US secret service operative), is one of its past owners.

Learn More
http://mandarinoriental.com/templates/main/img/MO_Magazine_Logo_BLK.svg

And finally

Ten minutes downriver from Sathorn Pier you’ll find Asiatique, a renovated wharf complex with 1,500 shops and 40 restaurants. It’s an enchanting place to spend an evening or two.

Gallery

The night market

The night market in Bangkok's China Town. Photo: Martin Puddy, Getty Images

Vendors

A vendor sets out their stall. Photo: Ray Laskowitz, Getty Images

Thai barbecue

Thai barbecue dishes are among Bangkok's most populat street food. Photo: Prachanart, Getty Images

Train Night Market Ratchada

The famous Train Night Market Ratchada, Bangkok. Photo: Patrick Foto, Getty Images